Skip to content

Movie rights have been optioned!

April 27, 2016

I’m excited to announce that The Pecan Man has been optioned by an independent film company out of New York and LA. More on the company to follow, but for now, I’m excited about the prospect of my novel being adapted to film.

Many readers have commented that they can see the story as a film, and this has never surprised me. I write using what I call a “mind movie”, where I actually see the scene unfolding and transcribe the visual. I have always thought of The Pecan Man as a movie in book form, so I cannot wait to see how my vision in interpreted.

For those of you who don’t know, I have been working on a BFA in Creative Writing for the past three years and will graduate in September of this year. This is a bittersweet thing for me, as I lost my beloved mother in February. She would have been 82 the weekend I will graduate. I am still stunned and grieving her loss. It was my greatest wish that she finally see me graduate from college. I know she will be with me in spirit, and she is always in my heart. I am looking forward to having more time to work on my novels once my schoolwork is done.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Sue McConnell permalink

    While reading this, I thought it would make a great movie. Hope it will be done.

  2. Tangelia Jackson permalink

    I throughly enjoyed reading this book! It was captivating and funny and sad and suspenseful and just AWESOME! The witty Miz Ora kept me laughing out loud!! My sister’s are fighting to be the next reader. Cassie don’t leave Grace’s story untold….start writing her story. I’ll be looking out for it!!

  3. Tangelia Jackson permalink

    I throughly enjoyed reading “The Pecan Man”. It was captivating and funny and sad and suspenseful and just AWESOME! The witty Miz Ora kept me laughing out loud!! My sister’s are fighting to be the next reader. Cassie please don’t leave Grace’s story untold…. I’ll be looking out for it!! A film or movie would be GREAT!

    • Hi, Tangelia! What an uplifting post! I’m working on getting Grace’s story out, but it’s a difficult one for me. I have lost my sister and a niece (her youngest daughter) to drug abuse in less than a year, and I am still reeling from it. In the meantime, I have written another novel, not related to The Pecan Man, but dealing with SOME of the same issues and hopefully still making you laugh. It’s just out on Kindle right now, but paperback will follow, so check out What Matters in Mayhew and let me know if you are still laughing out loud! Thanks so much for the note…

      Cass

  4. Congratulations! This is wonderful news. I chose your book for our book club here is Houstin TX. We meet in October to discuss. I just finished it and absolutely loved it. I can picture the movie. Your character development was fabulous. I love your story as a writer and I am so thrilled you kept chugging along and pursued this novel. You are inspiring.

Leave a Reply

