Skip to content

It’s Been a Long Time Coming…

September 26, 2016

 

BFA in Creative Writing 14372123_10210347100216837_7709190814679739891_o_edited

I finally did it, y’all! I started taking college classes when I was in my twenties when I was the single mother of two young daughters. I plugged away at my degree, one class at a time, skipping semesters and years as my personal life demanded. In 2014, that all changed when The Pecan Man became a self-publishing success and allowed me to quit my job and return to college full-time for the first time in my life. I graduated on September 18, 2016 from Goddard College in Vermont, with a BFA in Creative Writing. My three beautiful daughters were by my side celebrating with me, and I have never been more proud. Sweet husband couldn’t make it, but he was super proud, too, and has always been my biggest supporter and source of encouragement.

Here’s the thing…I published my first book, optioned movie rights and graduated from college, all in my fifth decade of life. It’s never too late as long as you are still putting one foot in front of the other. What are YOU waiting for? Your dreams are possible and you deserve to see them come true.

 

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Dawn Shepherd permalink

    The Pecanman was fabulous I could not put it down! I can’t wait to read but am not sure I will be able since there is no written copy. I am working on it. Thank you for a most beautiful book and now a movie ( I will watch for it).

    • Thank you, Dawn! I’ll be sure to post the news whenever it happens, but this movie thing is a LOOOONG process. 😀

  2. Cass, you are such an inspiration! You go girl! Actually, my book club arrives at my home within the hour to discuss The Pecan Man. I selected it for the group last year and then again this year. Finally, it was chosen by the group and I’ve already heard that everyone loves it. I wasn’t about to give up on you…I was sold on the book just by reading a short synopsis!
    Looking forward to the sequel!!! Enjoy life and many blessings in 2917!!
    Annette

  3. Cass, you are such an inspiration! My book club discusses The Pecan Man this afternoon and I’ve already heard rave remarks from the group! We so look forward to the sequel!
    Enjoy life and many blessings in 2017!
    Annette

    • Hi, Annette! Thanks so much for the sweet note. Wish I had known sooner…I’d have loved to call and chat with your book club! Hope the meeting went well. Please tell your friends I send fond wishes to them all and deep appreciation for having chosen my little book. Sequel in progress…in fact I’m at a retreat right now working on it. In the meantime, please check out What Matters in Mayhew on Amazon. That’s my new book…a contemporary novel set in a small town with quirky characters. Think Jan Karon’s Mitford Series. 🙂 Happy New Year to you all!

      Cass

Leave a Reply

