Skip to content

Upcoming Author Appearances

March 20, 2017

Put these on your calendars and watch for more information. I’ll be a guest author at The Florida Heritage Book Festival in St. Augustine on September 23, 2017.  See http://www.floridaheritagebookfestival.com for details. May need to wait until closer to time for the event to know the exact schedule.

I am also speaking at the Northwest Georgia Writers Conference May 19 and 20th, and presenting a workshop with Patti Walker, Senior Editor of Obstinate Daughters Press, on the craft of character development. This will be at the Harris Arts Center in Calhoun, Georgia.

And for those of you in Arkansas…check your local and/or state public library schedules for appearances the week of June 12th, 2017. I’ll be visiting across the state for the “If All Arkansas Read the Same Book” program, featuring my novel The Pecan Man. The schedule is still being developed, but I know I’ll be in Hot Springs on the 11th. These are all free to the public.

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Wm Bill Smith permalink

    Ms Selleck. I just finished reading The Pecan Man. I must say that I enjoyed the story very much. I kept trying to go to sleep but the characters wouldn’t let me. So I stayed up and finished your story. I know it’s a quick read but I picked the book late in the evening. The cadence of your story telling is very entertaining. You have that Southern storyteller thing going on that I find very theatrical. What I mean to say is I stop just reading and a movie of sorts starts flowing in my mind. The book actually reminds of the movie Big Fish. The way the narrator sets the scene and the story line unfolds. Anyway I have never felt moved to tell an author how much I enjoyed their work. As a musician I know the satisfaction of appreciation for ones art so this is my attempt at applause. Thanks for the pleasant read. Now I will dry my tears for those dear folks and go to bed. Yours Truly Wm Bill Smith

  2. Hi, Bill! I don’t even know where to start in response to your incredibly kind note. So many things struck me as interesting and thought-provoking. I love that my characters spoke to you…I felt that way about them throughout the writing and even today as I discuss them with book clubs across the country. They feel as real to me as anyone I have known. Some are inspired by real people, but none of them are actual representations of anyone in particular. Ora’s voice is inspired by my mother, who was the most wonderful storyteller and actress! “Theatrical” is the best compliment for me because I was raised doing community theater with my mom. I have two daughters and several cousins who are serious about the stage as well. And interestingly enough…I write using a kind of “mind movie” technique. I visualize the scene and transcribe. This helps me avoid using too much narrative, I think, and keeps me focused on showing, rather than telling. I set out to have the narrator tell the story in traditional storytelling fashion, but flipped it into scenes in the midst of the telling. That was a conscious decision and I caught a little flack for it from other writers, but it worked for me and I hoped it would work for readers as well. What’s funny is how much I loved Big Fish, but never considered the similarities between that and my novel, but you are absolutely right. The narrator sets the scene and the story unfolds from there. That was a movie that was profound for me, and I have rarely discussed it aloud. I walked out and cried, almost uncontrollably, for a good twenty minutes. It’s hard to put my finger on why that was, but it had something to do with my own father, who was also a storyteller, but not exactly in a good way. The parallels were similar, let’s just put it that way. So, the fact that you made the connection is just astounding and gratifying for me, and I thank you SO much for taking the time to “applaud” my work. I’m not a particularly confident writer, so the encouragement is greatly appreciated. I’m working on a sequel to two novels now. The Truth About Grace is the sequel to The Pecan Man. And I have another novel out on Amazon…just published last year…called What Matters in Mayhew. I’m also dabbling at a sequel to that, but I’m a little slow (read undisciplined). Thanks again for the note. I’m inspired! I think I’ll go tackle a few scenes now.

    With gratitude…

    Cassie

Leave a Reply

