Skip to content

Arkansas State Library features “The Pecan Man” as their 2016 common reader.

June 26, 2017

What a thrill it was to have my first novel selected for the Arkansas State Library Program “If All Arkansas Read the Same Book.” Though the tour of libraries is over and done, the program goes on throughout the year. I’m hoping to Skype with many more libraries in the coming months.

My tour guide and director of the program itself was Zoe Butler who, I might add, is a wonderful traveling partner, and a fun and interesting person to be around. We had so much in common and we made a great team as we traveled the highways and back roads of the beautiful state of Arkansas. Seriously, y’all…it is lovely.

I loved that the libraries we visited were mostly in small towns where I got to meet and talk with fascinating people, and was treated like royalty by the library staff. I worked for a library cooperative and I know what it takes to host events like this. I want to take this opportunity to remind you to check YOUR library website and social media to see what’s happening there. Funding can be a huge issue and the thing that makes our representatives take notice is COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT.  You may not think too much about the library if you aren’t a frequent patron, but stop a moment and consider what your town would be like WITHOUT one. Okay…off my soapbox.

I wish I could thank everyone personally but, though I am sending thank you cards to the libraries, it is impossible to remember all the names and credit them one by one. Suffice it to say that there were many people who made my trip wonderful and welcoming. Special thanks to Danny Koonce, who shadowed us for two days and took more photos of me in those two days than I’ve had taken in probably my entire life. Will share a few of them here as soon as they are available.

I say this all the time: Writing is about connecting with other people. It is about empathy and the sharing of story. It is about those “ah-ha” moments where you read something someone else has written and think, Wow! Me, too! I loved meeting readers and writers who attended the events at the libraries. It is an experience I will remember the rest of my life. I met new friends, and enjoyed all the little moments of “recognition” in our brief, but powerful, interactions.

Thank you to Zoe Butler and the State Library of Arkansas for making this possible. I am forever grateful.

Cassie Selleck

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Natalie Braswell permalink

    Hi Cassie, I met you yesterday at The Book Shelf in Thomasville where I purchased your book, The Pecan Man. I read it this morning and loved everything about it!!!! I plan to buy more to give as gifts and can’t wait to read, What Matters in Mathew! Thanks for a great read!Natalie

    • Hi Natalie! I remember you! Thanks so much for your sweet post. I had a great time yesterday and absolutely love that little bookstore. Many blessings to you and yours!

      Cass

Leave a Reply

